Tai Tarian are finalists in the GO Awards Wales 2018/19!

Mon 08 Oct 2018

Social housing provider Tai Tarian is celebrating after being announced as finalists in two categories in the Government Opportunities (GO) Excellence in Public Procurement Awards Wales 2018/19.

The Neath Port Talbot organisation is up for two awards; Procurement Team of the Year and Social and Community Benefit in Procurement.

The Awards, which are supported by Welsh Government and Procurex Wales 2018, recognise the contribution of individuals, teams and organisations across the public, private and third sectors in delivering effective and efficient procurement services.

Tai Tarian Director of Finance Sian Ross, said, “It’s fantastic that the hard work of our procurement team has been recognised by the GO Awards and it already feels like an achievement to be finalists in such a prestigious national event.

“It really is all about team work and we’re committed to delivering the best possible procurement activity for our services, ensuring at all times that it provides value for money and is sustainable.

“We’re looking forward to the awards ceremony and will be keeping our fingers crossed!”

In the Procurement Team of the Year Award, Tai Tarian has been recognised for a number of aspects including developing stakeholder engagement of procurement, delivering an improved organisation wide buy in for the process and receiving the highest level of assurance from auditors for its procurement activity.

In the Social and Community Benefit in Procurement category, its Copper Foundation project which gives long term unemployed people a route back into work has been recognised for its impact in the community and corporate social responsibility.

The Awards are judged by a panel made up of experts in UK procurement including Umar Hussain, Chief Financial Officer, South Wales Police, Sue Moffatt, Commercial Director, National Procurement Service at Welsh Government and Mark Roscow, Director of Procurement Services, NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership.

The winners will be announced in a ceremony in Cardiff on November 8, 2018.