Council Members

The Council nominated members of our Board are...


Alan Lockyer Photo

Alan Lockyer

Council Nominee

Alan has lived in Neath for the last 50 years and after becoming a Neath Town Councillor was elected as a Labour Councillor for Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council in 2010. Alan is a qualified teacher and until his recent retirement was employed as a lecturer in Neath Port Talbot College and Swansea Metropolitan University.

He is passionate about all aspects of council work especially inclusion and education. He is currently Chair of the Children Young People and Education Scrutiny Committee.

Rosalyn Davies Photo

Rosalyn Davies

Council Nominee

Rosalyn is a Plaid Cymru Councillor in Neath Port Talbot and has lived in the Godre’r Graig ward all her life. She is a member of the Ystalyfera Community Council, Chair of Ystalyfera Development Trust and Governor of Godre’r Graig Primary School. She is also Governor of Ysgol Gyfun Ystalyfera, Godre'r Graig Residents Association, and Godre'r Graig Community Association. Rosalyn works with Communities First to deliver projects.

Rosalyn attends Tai Tarian's Equality and Diversity working group. She has a passion for the Welsh language, and the area in which she lives. She also has a keen interest in Welsh Culture and Welsh Heritage.

Steffan ap Dafydd Photo

Steffan ap Dafydd

Council Nominee

Steffan has lived in Port Talbot for the past 30 years. After 33 years of teaching in secondary schools, then five of historical research, he was elected as a Labour Councillor for Aberavon Ward, Neath Port Talbot Council in May 2017.

From 2006, Steffan volunteered as a local executive official of his trade union, the National Union of Teachers, in Swansea, supporting members – teachers and head teachers – and seeking to resolve problems within the Education Service.

He lost an arm on a railway line when aged 2, but between 2014 and 2016, he served as Wales TUC’s elected member representing Disabled Workers.

Steffan is a long-standing advocate for equality and is also a member of the Council’s Education, Culture and Skills Scrutiny Committee.

Steffan is Acting Secretary of Port Talbot and District Trades Union Council, which organises the “Dic Penderyn” Commemoration at St Mary’s Churchyard, Aberavon every August.  He has also written books and given talks on “Dic Penderyn”.

He is also a Welsh language tutor.

Annette Wingrave  Photo

Annette Wingrave

Council Nominee

Anette started her working life in the civil service before moving on to the retail industry. It was her employment with the local Co-operative society as a retail buyer and departmental head that started her passion for working in the community. She has also helped run the small family construction business with her husband and sons.

Annette currently holds a Cabinet position for Regeneration and Sustainable Development within Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council.  She also sits on Coedffranc and Blaenhonddan Community Councils and is a school governor in Catwg and Coedffranc Primary schools.

Annette lives in Skewen, where she organises many community events including affordable family days so that all children benefit from the fun of free activities.

Annette likes to spend time with her grandchildren, gardening and walking her dogs.